Now Reading
Four Nigerian Ministers to Remain in Cabinet, Drop Election Bid

Four Nigerian Ministers to Remain in Cabinet, Drop Election Bid

2023 Elections are drawing closer and parties are preparing for their primaries as INEC has refused to extend the deadline for the party primaries.

Moreover, four members of Buhari’s cabinet who should have resigned to pursue their political ambition in the 2023 Elections have decided to stay in his cabinet. These ministers include the junior petroleum minister Timipre Sylva, the minister of justice Abubakar Malami, the minister of labor Chris Ngige and the minister of women’s affairs Pauline Tallen.

President Buhari had earlier given them a deadline to resign from their political positions by Monday 16th of May, 2022, if they wanted to run for any position in next year’s election.

However, these ministers have all decided to remain in their jobs and forfeit their 2023 Election goals as they claim to want to serve with Buhari till the end of his tenure. Ten other cabinet members have however dropped their resignation letters to run for various political positions.

See Also

The CBN governor on the other hand is requesting a court order to run for the presidency while still being in his position.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top