Now Reading
Pedri wins the Golden boy award

Pedri wins the Golden boy award

Pedri Gonzalez has won the 19th edition of the tuttsports Golden Boy award replacing Erling Haaland who was the recipient of the award last year. The 18-year old beat Jude Bellingham of England Borussia Dortmund with a whooping 199 points.

The award is for the best Under-21 player playing in a European country’s top league division. Since its inception in 2003, the likes of Lionel Messi, Wayne Rooney, Sergio Aguero, Paul Pogba and Kylian Mbappe has won the award.

The Barcelona midfielder joined the Catalans from Las Palmas in the summer of 2020, he had more minutes under his belt than any other Barca player last season, he went on to represent Spain at the Euros and also won the Olympic silver with his country side.

He recently signed a new deal with Barcelona with a release clause of 1bn euro (£846m), the youngster has been missing in action for his club after he had a thigh injury in September which will keep him out till 2022 after suffering a relapse in recent time.

Pedri made a video message to appreciate tuttsports, the members of the jury and the fans for their immense support, he continued by also thanking Barcelona, the Spanish national team and his family for standing by him.

See Also

He will receive the award at a ceremony slated for the 13th of December.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top