Now Reading
NFF releases 28 man list for AFCON

NFF releases 28 man list for AFCON

The Nigerian Football Federation have today released the final 28 man list for the African Cup of Nations slated for next year. 

Rather than releasing a provisional 40-man squad list, the Federation decided to go ahead and do a final trim of the list with the tournament just two weeks away. The 56 year old made a few tweaks to the list by inviting in form Watford forward Emmanuel Dennis, recalling Kelechi Nwakali and Sadiq Umar to the squad. 

The 33rd Africa Cup of Nations will take place in Cameroon from January 9th to the 6th of February 2022 and the Super Eagles head coach, Augustine Eguavoe released his 28-man final list for the competition with Captain Ahmed Musa, Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi, Alex Iwobi and the recovering Victor Osimhen all making the cut.

Eguavoen’s list includes four goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders, and ten forwards to represent the country in their quest to conquer African football next year in Cameroon.

Nigeria’s first group game will come up against the Pharaohs of Egypt on Tuesday, January 11th while their second and third group game will be against AFCON debutant Guinea Bissau and Sudan respectively. 

See Also

Invited players are expected to arrive in Abuja camp on Wednesday 29th December, only UK-based players are expected to arrive on January 3rd due to UK and Premier League rules.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top